Planet Four Talk

Mars and The Solar System - For Beginners.

• Kitharode by Kitharode moderator

When you first arrive on Planet Four, there's no denying that it's all a bit 'in your face' and it can be rather overwhelming.

We know from the discussions that a number of people feel uneasy about joining in because "I'm new to astronomy and don't know very much". You shouldn't let this hold you back.

There are some good people here and they're all willing to share their knowledge with you. Your questions will often generate very informative discussions and you will learn a lot this way. However, we want to give you the best start possible so we hope that this discussion will be useful. Think of it as an 'astronomy workshop for beginners' Q&A session.

We'll only deal with Mars and the Solar System here and it's aimed specifically at newcomers to astronomy. If you want to discuss quarks, quasars, dark energy, black holes, Jimi Hendrix, and other spaced-out stuff, please take these to the Just Chatting board and hopefully someone will help. They might not of course, because we're all into martian astronomy here and besides, why would anybody want a quark when they can have a yardang?!

But that still leaves us with the Sun, nine (or eight?) planets, an asteroid belt, the solar wind, meteors, Mars,.... You get the idea.

One last thing; The 'daft' question. The 'daft' question is the one you don't want to ask because you think everybody, except you, will know the answer and think you were 'daft' for having to ask. Not true. Most of the time if you ask that question, somebody will say "Glad you asked about that because I wondered how that worked". So, beginners; how might we help you today?

Posted

Buying Your First Telescope? This is my advice. http://talk.planetfour.org/#/boards/BPF0000006/discussions/DPF0000ca2

Feel free to add your own advice there. Maybe you have a telescope already that you would recommend to beginners.

Posted