Planet Four Talk

Suggestion for an image with too many features to classify

• SEJones by SEJones

hi, I'm a newbie! I am really enjoying this project. however, I have found that on a few occasions, I get an image with far too many features to classify (maybe >=30 individual features of similar nature). the rules of this project are really suitable for images containing a manageable number of features. but the manual pattern recognition process becomes inefficient for busier images. may I suggest that you add two more options in classification toolbar just for these types of images like:' >90% with fan features' and '>90% with blotch features'. You can add suboptions about the predominant wind direction. this still allows users to identify the 'interesting' features.

Posted

• gnarlyexpert by gnarlyexpert in response to SEJones's comment.

May I second the above suggestion. The images absolutely covered with hundreds of tiny fans/blotches are making me loose the will to live! I end up logging out & then on again to avoid them, which is surely defeating the object of the exercise? Otherwise great project: beautiful images.

Posted

• nick.coram by nick.coram

Yup, I'll third that! Also guilty of going of to do other things when a page with masses of features turns up.

Posted

• SEJones by SEJones

i didn't want to say in my original post but yes, i am also guilty of skipping a few of these types of images (in case i was passing bad practices to other newbies like me)!

Posted

• nick.coram by nick.coram

I'm sure lots of people do. its only human. It must skew the data though!

Posted

• delete_def2cad5 by delete_def2cad5 in response to SEJones's comment.