Planet Four Talk

Starfish blotches.

• p.titchin by p.titchin

I'm getting puzzled by repeated images of very large blotches which are labelled 'starfish' blotches on HiRISE links. With these are usually lines of small venting along the developing ice fractures- developing linear venting. these are easy to accept with the current sublimation theories, but the pre-existing apparently random giant blotches are harder to explain. Any current thoughts from the experts??

Posted

• Kitharode by Kitharode moderator in response to p.titchin's comment.

Not being an expert I can't really help with this one. 'Starfish', I would guess, is a spider shape (?). Blotches because there's little wind at the time / in the area.

Yes, you need an expert - MEG, WASSOCK, WHERE ARE YOU? 😉

Posted

• wassock by wassock moderator

Think thar they are just blotches, venting with no wind. Thi 'star fish' titles all seem to be from 2007 which I assume was before the term "spiders" had been coined

Still here but have a campsite ful of campers , inti 4th week of 18 hr days so a bit busy. Normal service will resume after the bank holiday

Posted

• Kitharode by Kitharode moderator in response to wassock's comment.

Thanks Wassock. I'd a feeling you might be busy this time of year - and with a nice summer for a change. Happy Camping.

Your '2007 pre-spider term' idea is interesting. Might be right there. Well spotted.

Posted

• Kitharode by Kitharode moderator

Starfish feature unfrosted: http://planetfour.org/subjects/standard/5143480cea305267e9002fc1.jpg

HiRise image: http://hirise.lpl.arizona.edu/PSP_004941_0955

Strange territory indeed.

Posted

• Portyankina by Portyankina scientist

Hi!

I think, "starfish" originally referred to the appearance of the multiple "fat" fans originating to different direction from same vents and hence resembling the shape of starfish... At least, this is my own explanation for the name of this region.

Anya

Posted