Planet Four Talk

Fabulous detail but not calssifiable with given classifications

• bleighuk by bleighuk

Looks like lots of "rivers".

Posted

• JellyMonster by JellyMonster

Certainly different to what I have seen so far. Even rotating the image doesn't help in this instance!
    http://blog.planetfour.org/2013/01/16/if-it-looks-like-a-ridge-its-a-valley-1st-rule-of-mars/

Posted

• Kitharode by Kitharode moderator

Don't know for sure, but it could be related to yardand terrain. I'm just beginning to realise that yardangs are not just tramlines. There's allsorts and I think this may be related. Don't take any of this as fact yet, but...

'Layered deposits' seem to be needed to form yardang terrain and some of these are very old, but some are more recent. Some are more worn, others appear less so. You need strong winds and yardangs can be weirdly shaped. It seems that when the old layers were laid down the winds that gave them their tramlines blew in a different direction than the winds we have today on Mars.

I get the feeling that some yardangs, in some areas, never got overlayed by new stuff so we see them as is. Other areas (guessing again) may have most recent stuff overlayed but this has been worn away to a 'patchy'/'hair lined'(?) type of terrain. However, before it gets to that stage it may be formed into more recognisable tramlines (following the direction of new wind) with evidence of the old layered deposits 'showing through'.

My feeling is that spidering only happens in some areas of yardang terrain because the layering is there/not there or that the time is right for them to get a grip. Your spidering, I think, will eventually turn into a crowded field of mishapen Sphinxes with a network of pathways around and between them. I've read that some believe the Great Sphinx of Egypt is indeed an example of yardang so that's why I mention it.